Vedic Cooking

Vedic Cooking


There are three main types of foods. Foods in the categories of ignorance, passion and goodness. The ideal, topmost vedic standard is to prepare foods in the category or mode of goodness which will be then offered to Kṛṣṇa with love and devotion. This is usually done in the home altar to the deities, or suitable devotional pictures and by adding Tulasī leaves to the offerings.

So, what are the qualities of foods in the mode of goodness? Kṛṣṇa explains in Bhagavad-gītā:

Foods dear to those in the mode of goodness increase the duration of life, purify one’s existence and give strength, health, happiness and satisfaction. Such foods are juicy, fatty, wholesome, and pleasing to the heart. [Bhagavad-gītā 17.8]

Foods to avoid

“Foods that are too bitter, too sour, salty, hot, pungent, dry and burning are dear to those in the mode of passion. Such foods cause distress, misery and disease.” [Bhagavad-gītā 17.9]

“Food prepared more than three hours before being eaten, food that is tasteless, decomposed and putrid, and food consisting of remnants and untouchable things is dear to those in the mode of darkness.” [Bhagavad-gītā 17.10]

Foods to be avoided are:
Ignorance: Fish, eggs, all types of meat, mushrooms, radish, onions and garlic. Intoxicants like coffee, cigar, chocolate.
Passion: Nightshade family of plants (chilli, eggplant, tomatoes, potatoes), red kidney beans, lima beans and other toxic vegetables.


Here’s a website with a good collection of recipes mostly in the mode of goodness. There are a few that use tomatoes, and other nightshade family plants which should be avoided:

Please contact through email for any further inquiry:

Need help? Have questions?